Startup programs
Accelerators and startup programs for dev-tool and AI startups
Accelerators
Cohort programs that invest cash in early startups; most take equity and run a few months.
- Y Combinator$500,000
Standard deal plus the YC network, partner perks and Demo Day.
- Equity
- 7% for $125k + $375k uncapped MFN SAFE
- Format
- 3-month batch in San Francisco (Winter 2027: January to March)
- Focus
- Any startup, strong on software and AI
- Apply
- Winter 2027: apply by Nov 2, 8pm PT; later applications still considered
Catch: In person in San Francisco; 7% for $125k plus an uncapped MFN SAFE.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Techstars Anywhere Accelerator$220,000 ($200k uncapped MFN SAFE + $20k)
Mentor-led program with a worldwide application; the same terms apply to most Techstars programs.
- Equity
- 5% common stock + whatever the MFN SAFE converts to
- Format
- 3-month program (starts Mar 8, 2027; Demo Day Jun 3, 2027)
- Focus
- Early-stage startups, any sector, worldwide
- Apply
- Applications open; final deadline Nov 18, 2026
Catch: Terms can differ by program; Techstars also takes equity (5% common plus the SAFE's future share).
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- a16z speedrunUp to $1M plus $10M+ in credits
Up to $1M in funding, $10M+ in credits, and hands-on help with sales, hiring and fundraising.
- Format
- Cohort with Demo Day; apply from anywhere
- Focus
- Games, consumer, AI and infrastructure founders
- Apply
- Apply form; no deadline stated on the page
Catch: Program length and equity terms are not published on the page.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Entrepreneur FirstEquity-free grant while ideating; up to $250k once a company is formed
You can apply without a co-founder or idea; EF helps you find one and start.
- Format
- Pre-team talent investor; cohorts in London, Bangalore and San Francisco
- Focus
- Talented individuals who want to found a deep-tech or AI company
- Apply
- Apply at apply.joinef.com
Catch: Equity share is not stated; the page itself is inconsistent on SF office duration.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Day-zero investor that helps find co-founders and test ideas.
- Format
- Residency-style program in 20+ cities (see site for cohort dates)
- Focus
- Pre-seed founders, many cities, with a later-stage Elevate track
- Apply
- Online form by region and stage
Catch: Cheque size and equity are not on the application page.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- South Park Commons$1M to $10M for members ready to build
Free, no-equity residency; first checks come only once a founder is ready.
- Format
- 6-month residency community
- Focus
- Technical founders and researchers exploring ideas
- Apply
- Apply on site
Catch: Funding of $1M to $10M applies only to those who are ready; not every member is funded.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Alchemist AcceleratorAverage net $30,000 (optional investment offsets tuition)
Mentorship, perks above $450k in aggregate, and a virtual Demo Day; founders can be anywhere.
- Equity
- Single-digit common equity, most grant 5%
- Format
- 6-month rolling cohorts; in-person week in the SF Bay Area, then mostly virtual
- Focus
- Enterprise AI-SaaS and deeptech startups with enterprise revenue
- Apply
- Rolling deadlines; replies within 3 weeks
Catch: Tuition fee applies, offset by a small optional investment; most grant 5% equity.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Berkeley SkyDeck$210,000 (cohort teams)
$210k fund investment for cohort teams, workspace, advisors and Demo Day.
- Format
- 6-month cohort of 20 to 25 teams in Berkeley, plus a lighter Pad-13 track
- Focus
- Industry-agnostic; prioritises UC-affiliated and international startups
- Apply
- Batch 23 closed Aug 21, 2026; Batch 24 opens in January
Catch: Pad-13 teams get no guaranteed investment; equity terms not stated.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Mentoring and a global network; also runs regional programs.
- Format
- Silicon Valley program
- Focus
- Early-stage tech startups
- Apply
- See programs page
Catch: Investment terms and open status not shown on the page; some regional programs are regional only.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- 500 Global LatAm ProgramUS$300,000
Funding plus personalised support for LatAm founders.
- Format
- Regional program
- Focus
- Latin American tech startups
- Apply
- See programs page
Catch: Open status and equity are not stated on the page.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
A residency built for people who have founded companies before.
- Format
- Residency with batches (September and January starts listed)
- Focus
- Repeat founders
- Apply
- Apply at hf0.com/apply
Catch: Investment terms and location are not on the homepage; repeat founders only.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Thiel Fellowship$250,000 grant over two years
A grant for young builders who skip or leave college.
- Format
- Two-year fellowship
- Focus
- Young people building new things
- Apply
- Apply via the site
Catch: Aimed at young people who skip or stop out of college.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
AI programs
Programs from AI and cloud companies that give credits, tools or equity-free support to AI startups.
- Google for Startups AcceleratorEquity-free
Equity-free support with Google and industry mentors and early access to Google AI products.
- Format
- Cohorts of 10 to 15; mix of remote and in-person; Americas, EMEA and APAC
- Focus
- Technical startups, ideally using AI and machine learning
- Apply
- Pick a regional accelerator on the site
Catch: Application windows differ by region and are not listed on this page.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Google Cloud AI startup tierUp to $350,000 in credits
Up to $350,000 in Google Cloud credits over two years, plus support credits.
- Format
- Credits over two years
- Focus
- AI-first startups that use Google's AI platform or Gemini
- Apply
- Apply on cloud.google.com/startup
Catch: Needs seed to Series A VC funding, founded in the last 10 years; third-party models are billed.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- NVIDIA InceptionFree membership
Free training, cloud credits from NVIDIA and partners, hardware pricing, and VC introductions.
- Format
- Ongoing membership; no cohorts or deadlines
- Focus
- AI and data-science startups
- Apply
- Rolling via the Inception portal
Catch: No set credit amount; needs incorporation, a website and a developer; under 10 years old.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Microsoft for Startups Founders HubUp to $150,000 in Azure credits
Azure credits for AI models and developer tools.
- Format
- Credits and tools
- Focus
- Startups building on AI, models and developer tools
- Apply
- Apply via the Get started page
Catch: Eligibility criteria are not listed on this page.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Anthropic startup program$1,000 API credits; up to $45K partner offers; up to $100K more via partner VCs
API credits, a year of Claude Team, and partner offers.
- Format
- Credits and perks
- Focus
- Startups building on the Claude API
- Apply
- Apply in Claude Console; most decided within minutes
Catch: Credits expire after six months; first-party API only; founded within 5 years or funded within 2.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- AWS ActivateFounders up to $5,000; Portfolio up to $200,000; AI $200,000+
Founders tier for bootstrapped teams; Portfolio tier for funded ones.
- Format
- Credit tiers by funding stage
- Focus
- Startups on AWS, including AI
- Apply
- Apply directly (Founders) or via a provider org ID (Portfolio)
Catch: Pre-series B, founded in last 10 years; the AI tier is invite-only.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Dev-tool and infra perks
Cloud, payments and tooling credits that cut early-stage costs for software startups.
- Cloudflare for Startups$10k, $100k or $350k credit tiers by funding raised
Cloud credits plus enterprise-tier services (WAF, CDN, DDoS) free.
- Format
- Credits for one year
- Focus
- Early-stage tech startups
- Apply
- Apply online; review up to 48 hours
Catch: One-time per startup; credits last a year; higher tiers need a partner funder.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Credits for DigitalOcean cloud services.
- Format
- Credits for about 12 months
- Focus
- AI-native and software startups raised $10M or less
- Apply
- Apply via form; choose Other if no partner
Catch: Core credits exclude GPU, serverless inference and third-party models; unused credits are forfeited.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Credits against Stripe fees, capped invoicing fee, and founder community; Atlas forms a Delaware C corp.
- Format
- Fee credits and perks
- Focus
- Venture-backed startups
- Apply
- Apply on site
Catch: Credit amount and duration not on the page; aimed at venture-backed startups.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- JetBrains for Startups50% off up to 10 seats per product group
50% off IDE, team tool and JetBrains AI subscriptions.
- Format
- Discount for five years
- Focus
- Privately owned software startups
- Apply
- Reviewed within 48 hours
Catch: Company must be under 5 years old; one use per organisation; not combinable with other discounts.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Open-source programs and grants
Non-dilutive programs that fund open-source work.
- GitHub Secure Open Source Fund$10,000 per project plus $10,000 Azure credits
Cash, security training, Security Lab office hours and Azure credits.
- Format
- 3-week security program with 6 and 12 month check-ins
- Focus
- Open-source maintainers improving security
- Apply
- Rolling; apply by Microsoft form
Catch: Roughly 20 hours of commitment; selected applicants are interviewed.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- NLnet (NGI Zero)First grants EUR 5,000 to 50,000
Grants for open-licence technical work.
- Format
- Grants
- Focus
- Open-source software, hardware and content, mainly European
- Apply
- Next deadline Nov 3, 2026, 12:00 CET
Catch: Needs a European dimension; AI-generated proposals not accepted.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- Sovereign Tech FundMinimum project cost EUR 50,000
Funds development and maintenance of widely used open-source infrastructure.
- Format
- Financing or work commissions
- Focus
- Open digital base technologies
- Apply
- Apply at apply.sovereign.tech; page does not say if open now
Catch: Costs must exceed EUR 50,000; contract start about 6 months after submission; no prototypes.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Funds include Internet Freedom, Rapid Response and FOSS Sustainability.
- Format
- Several funds
- Focus
- Internet freedom and censorship-circumvention tools
- Apply
- Apply at apply.opentech.fund; open status per fund
Catch: Limited to internet-freedom technology; amounts not shown on the page.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
- US SBIR/STTRPhase I up to $323,090; Phase II up to $2,153,927 (without waiver)
Non-dilutive government R&D funding.
- Format
- Phase I and Phase II awards through federal agencies
- Focus
- US small businesses with R&D-heavy technology
- Apply
- Agency solicitations; see sbir.gov/apply
Catch: US small businesses only; each agency sets its own deadlines and topics.
official source · checked 2026-10-08
Building a dev tool? Free credits and perks · where to promote it · launch it on DevHunt.
FAQ
Which accelerator is best for a developer-tool startup?+
Y Combinator and Techstars take the most dev-tool companies and give the broadest network; a16z speedrun suits consumer-leaning and AI products. If you want to keep equity, start with the equity-free programs (Google for Startups, cloud credit tiers) and open-source grants.
Are there equity-free programs?+
Yes. The AI programs and dev-tool perks on this page are equity-free (credits, mentoring, go-to-market help), and the open-source programs are grants. Accelerators that invest cash take equity; the exact terms are listed per program.
How current is this list?+
Every program was checked on its official page on 2026-10-08. Deadlines and terms change, so confirm on the program's site before applying.